The Max Ernst Museum Brühl des LVR is the first and only museum worldwide dedicated to the large uvre of the major artist and world citizen Max Ernst (1891-1976). It offers a review of the versatile work of the Dadaist and Surrealist whose imagery worlds are characterised by a stunning creativity and a remarkable force of inspiration - barely known with any other artist of the twentieth century.
Max Ernst created not only a great number of paintings, collages, graphic works, sculptures and assemblages; his overwhelming creativity is reflected in numerous books, portfolios and poems. In his imagery worlds we encounter poetic landscapes, fantastic compositions and bizarre creatures whose inventive talent and wit fascinate and bewilder at the same time.
The Max Ernst Museum Brühl des LVR was inaugurated on 4 September 2005 and is located in the artist's native city. The building is a successful combination of old and new. Not far from the UNESCO World Heritage Site Augustusburg Palace with its Baroque gardens, lies the three-winged Classical building. The original building was extended by a centrally incorporated glass pavilion and a "floating" entrance plateau, as well as by additional exhibition and function rooms in the basement floor.
The renovations conducted by the Cologne-based architects Thomas van den Valentyn and Seyed Mohammad Oreyzi required four years and focused on the rebuilding of the listed 19th century building. Built in 1844 at the same time as the Cologne-Bonn railway, the building was up to World War 1 a popular restaurant destination, which the teenage Max Ernst himself frequented. For the harmonic combination of the pre-existing building with the demands of a museum and the aesthetic requirements of contemporary architecture, the museum was awarded the title of "Exemplary Building in North Rhine-Westphalia."
Since 1 July 2007 the Max Ernst Museum is managed by the Landschaftsverband Rheinland (Rhineland Regional Council) .